Lavender Bottles (AKA Lavender wands)

13 07 2009

2009 Jul 09_0103 Last year I planted four lavender bushes in the garden, this year I added two more.  I love the smell of lavender! This year we’ve had a lot of lavender to harvest.  What does one do with the lavender?  Typically, I dry it and collect the lavender buds.

Dried lavender has multiple uses:

-use in a sachet to freshen up lingerie drawer or as natural moth repellent for wools

-use in cooking- lavender is edible and quite yummy

-use in aromatherapy it is supposed to help you relax and to fall  asleep

2009 Jun 30_0099My lavender grew particularly tall this year, which gave me the idea to try a new craft- Lavender bottles made with ribbon.  Lavender bottles or lavender wands are made with fresh lavender cut before the flowers open with a long stem and ribbon (1/8″ to 1/4″ width).  Directions for how to make these wands can be found on one of my new favorite blogs: Make it Do.

2009 Jun 30_0100

I got the itch to give these a try the night before leaving for BF’s sisters wedding.  I made 4 bottles and at he last minute decided to bring them with me to share. The instructions didn’t say anything about drying the lavender bottles.  But I would definately suggest hangng them up to dry before giving them to anyone.  Not knowing this, and  since the scent of lavender was pretty strong I put them in a zip-lock bag for the flight. When I took them out some 8 hours later there was a distinctive musty vegitation smell- whoops! that’s what I get for putting fresh (aka moist!) lavender in a plastic bag.  BF swears that he couldn’t smell anything wrong with them, but to me the smell was so bad I had to put them in the trunk on our drive from Indy to Fort Wayne because it was making me nausianted.  The whole trip we tried to dry the bottles out (and get rid of that musty smell) placing them in front of a box fan in the basement.  The last day we were there they started so smell normal. Leasson learned, dry the lavender bottles before trying to transport them in plastic bags!

I learned another interesting thing about lavender- I think cats love it! We stayed at the house my BF’s brother and his fiance bought (She’s living there alone until the wedding, and yes, we did get the idea from them!) and their cats couldn’t stay away from the Lavender bottles!  They would steal them off of the counters- out of my luggage, anywhere they could get their paws on them. Funny! I wonder if it’s all cats or just their cats.

Actions

Information

One response

12 01 2010
mykidscanblog

Leave a Reply

