Hemlock Ring Blanket: Lace dream!

29 03 2009

I finished the Hemlock Ring Blanket last weekend, but didn’t get around to blocking it until this weekend.  I knew it would be pretty but OMG it’s gorgeous!

Because it’s knit in the round, it actually is naturally shaped like a hat (hence the photo of me wearing it as such) it also is all ripply because of the fan and feather pattern  It looked a little like a sea creature.

Blocking is essential for a piece like this.  I let it soak in water for a good hour, draining all the water out and refilling a couple of times.  I squeezed out as much water as I could before laying the blanket on multiple towels and rolling it up… then stepping on the towel/blanket role to get even more water out.  Next  I used every straight pin in the house to pin it out on a blanket- starting at the center and carefully working my way out.  I pinned out each loop on the edge getting the blanket just right.  then I kicked the cats out of my bedroom,  and laid it on the bed to dry. Now it lays nice and flat!

Actions

Information

7 responses

7 04 2009
spacestitch

Oh wow, that is gorgeous! What kind of yarn did you use and how long did it take you? I want to make one for a friend.

7 04 2009
iftinkerbellknit

It’s Cascade Eco. I used just over 2.5 skeins, it took about 3 or 4 weeks to finish, but in that time I had to back out 10 rows and I also had the “cat + yarn” emergency that I mentioned in an earlier post. So I guess in real knitting time it was actually more like 2.5-3 weeks. Its a real easy knit- the blocking is the most difficult I think (cause I hate to block!) You can find the pattern on Ravelry “Hemlock Ring Blanket” I joined a knit a long for it and I have some better charts and correction of an error in the pattern if you are interested.

7 04 2009
iftinkerbellknit

here are two links- one to the original pattern which should be used in conjunction with the expanded fan and feather chart and one to a blog which specifies some corrections to the pattern.

8 04 2009
Liane

Yep, it’s the 2 pattern thing plus the possible “error” has put me off this project, but I’ll take you up on the correction! That would be awesome. Does this mean I get to go yarn shopping? Wheee!!!

20 04 2009
Megan

I LOVE this! Did it get super heavy by the end? I’ll bet the cast off took years!

21 04 2009
iftinkerbellknit

🙂 it didn’t really get too heavy, the whole blanket is pretty light with the Cascade Eco Oh yeah, the cast off… it took a while!

26 07 2009
Humility, thy name is pre-blocked Hemlock Ring. « All the Pretty Pastimes.

[…] this morning.  Truth be told, it looks like a wrinkly, blobby mess.  If I hadn’t looked at other project pages for before and after photos of blocking, I would probably be freaking out right […]

Leave a Reply

